Dear Tom, the misadventures of Jake and his bestie.

I wish I had photos but these days life is too busy for photos.

Jake and I went for a hike along the river. I chose a trail he loves. It’s a grassy trail that meanders through a flood plane. One one side is a slough, on the other side is the river. There are no roads. He can’t get killed chasing cars. There are no bicycles. There are only birds, the occasional fox, coyote, river otter, beaver and mountain lion. All good.

Oh, farther down the river, actually farther north along the river, is a place I’ve cristened Rabbitzville. Cuz there are like a million rabbits. But Jake and I headed south. There are fewer rabbits. Perhaps only a thousand rabbits as opposed to a million rabbits.

Jake and I crossed the slough via a makeshift bridge of boards and driftwood. Jake ran right through the water, while I picked my way across. When we reached the trail I let him off leash. I mean, c’mon, it was just us. There was nobody there but Jake, Julia and ducks.

We had a great time. He romped up and down and around, running in big circles like a puppy. It was a terrific hike. But then Jake scared up a rabbit. He scared up a jack rabbit by stepping right on him. The rabbit flew across the meadow, Jake in pursuit, because if there’s one creature he can’t resist, it’s a rabbit.

He chased that sucker for at least half a mile and then the rabbit dove into the slough, right into a huge patch of xanthium strumarium. Jake froze. When I saw him freeze I knew what had happened.

cocklebur

OMG. Those horrible horrible awful terrible cockleburs. They are the stuff of nightmares if you are a long-haired dog. He made his way back to me, walking like he was in absolute misery. Egg-shaped sharp stickers were matted into his hair, everywhere. His armpits, his belly, his chest, his legs, his tail.

We had a two mile hike back to the car. Once we got home I cut out as many of the stickers as I could. But I couldn’t shave his armpits or his belly. The stickers were matted right up against the skin.

He had to spend the entire day at the vet’s, sedated. They removed the remainder of the stickers, or so we thought. I’ve since found four more, had to cut them off his thighs. Yikes!

The same day his bestie, Hastur, was sprayed by a skunk right outside her front door.

Oh, California. Where the wild things are.

XOXO! Peace out. Julia

 

20 thoughts on “Dear Tom, the misadventures of Jake and his bestie.

    1. juliabarrett Post author

      It should be the state motto, Roberta. Did you see the video of a mountain lion taking a deer right off a porch in San Francisco? Look it up.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Roberta Hunter

        Holy Crap!!! Just saw it. Amazing. Scary. When I lived in SoCal I used to walk after dinner/dusk. Always took a flashlight and a loud whistle with me just in case. I lived a few miles from the mountains. Best to be safe.

        Like

  1. Diana Stevan

    With Alicia mentioning Brer Rabbit, you have the seeds of good children’s story. Sorry about Jake though. The price he pays having an author for his master.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. juliabarrett Post author

        I suspect he’ll chase another rabbit one of these days. Although Jake does learn fast. One bad experience may be all it takes.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

