Dear Tom, yesterday my oldest cousin died

of cancer.

Dear Char, you were already in college when I was born. And although I didn’t know you well, I was close with your mother, your grandmother, and your younger brother took me under his sixteen year old wings as if I were his own little baby sister.

I’m so sorry I never met your children. You married and moved to the east coast when I was quite young. You never came back to visit. I did see your mother at the moment of her death. I know you’re with her now.

Your husband posted this on your Facebook page:

“6:45 PM. I have left this dimension. I am now at peace. No more cancer. No more discomfort. I leave behind a loving husband of 44 years. Four wonderful children. 9 Magnificent grandchildren and a little girl, my namesake, to carry on for me, born in June. I have a wonderful brother. In 2001 I was fortunate to find my birth mother and 5 sisters and 3 brothers. It was a wonderful life. 

I was a good wife, mother and grandmother. I was blessed. Thank you. God bless. Good bye. See you on the other side.

Damn. I just hate it when people die.Tears me apart, me, a hospice nurse.

I didn’t know you well, but I do believe you were, indeed, blessed.

XOXO. Julia

18 thoughts on “Dear Tom, yesterday my oldest cousin died

    1. juliabarrett Post author

      Thanks, Anny. I have photos – she would stay with us when our parents were out of town. I remember her well, remember her wedding, but I was a young child and she was a young woman. We never really spoke but she was kind to me.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Diana Stevan

    I hate it, too, Julia. So sorry. My thoughts immediately went to my cousins. I’ve lost four dear ones, all to cancer. My prayers for you and your cousin’s family.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      It’s true, Marylin. I hear her children and grandchildren are wonderful people. One thing I knew about her – because she babysat me – is that she was a very loving person.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Roberta

    What a beautiful remembrance, Julia.

    Char’s husband’s Facebook tribute is the most touching and beautiful I have ever read.

    What a wonderful, and yes, blessed person and life Char lived.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      I believe she is, Alicia. And thank you. She received her diagnosis in late December. I’m convinced she decided to make it quick for the sake of her loved ones.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

