Dear Tom, life interrupted…

Oscar is sick with the flu, as in influenza. Thus Julia, oh she of the 25 pound leg cast, must don two plastic bags and a cast boot and hobble along with the dog in rainmaggedon. Twice a day in rainmaggedon. (Pay no attention to the doomsayers, those who insist the drought is not over. (Bull cookies.)

I’m on my third cast- keep getting them wet. I ordered a special camo walking bag- the bottom is tacky. Supposedly it will hold up. Well, I do hope so because plastic garbage bags break and leak, even if they are inside the cast boot. This special walking cast cover was supposed to arrive last Wednesday. Well I say-

It’s like Job or the ten plagues or something. No. Wait. Obviously those two examples are way worse than what I’m experiencing. Give me a dark comedy analogy and I’ll make it fit the circumstances. At least I have him!

20160302_154254

My embarrassed assistant.

XOXO! Julia

14 thoughts on “Dear Tom, life interrupted…

    1. juliabarrett Post author

      Oh, Jake’s fine. He’s just frustrated. It’s the hubs who has the flu! LOL! Yikes, Diana. Just yikes!

      Like

      Reply
  1. anny cook

    So I suppose you don’t want to hear ‘when it rains, it …’? Girl, it just never quits, eh? I’ll send you a couple pics of the grandbaby…in the hospital. He’s getting better. You’ll be able to judge for yourself. In the meantime, may Oscar get better very quickly, and Jake hang in there. As for you, my dear. Prop that leg up and rest!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      Anny- I am wishing all good things for you and your family. You have had a rough couple years. As we say in Jewish world – Next year in Jerusalem! Or, in other words, next year will be better.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Roberta

    Oh dear!!! When it rains it pours. Oh!!! Did I just say that????. Then let me change it. Sh*t Happens….. but why does it ave to be so much at the same time.
    Am praying for my niece right now……have added you to the list. And the hubs too.

    Hope things settle down soon and you get some R&R; preferably in Tahiti.

    xoxoxoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      LOL Roberta! You know that better than anyone! I would love to go to Tahiti. Maybe live there forever. Hope things are stable in your life.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Jaye

    Having recently gotten over the flu, Oscar has almost all my sympathy. You have the rest (and Jake, too!)

    Got any car wax? Wax your cast and maybe it won’t fall apart so quickly. Hang in there.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      If I wax my cast I will fall on my ass. πŸ˜‰ I’ve been thinking of you. What Oscar has sounds an awful lot like what you had. He can barely get out of bed. Horrible!

      Like

      Reply
  4. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt

    After praying for rain, it is probably not a good idea to complain that it falls on the just and the sinners alike, so I will pray that Oscar gets better quickly, and can take up the duties of walking Jake in the rain again. So you can stay off your feet.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      Oh, I’m still praying for rain. I’m also praying my cast stays dry, Alicia. We all have our challenges, right? There’s some saying about that which eludes me at the moment!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

