Dear Tom… A Perfect Storm, or as we say round these parts- bitch fest two!

I’m only gonna talk about it in this one post. Then I’ll shut up. There are way worse problems in this world. My little issues don’t amount to a hill of beans. But there are reasons why productivity (mine) may be limited in 2016.

I feel like my own grandmother!

You may recall the jumping over the side of a steep trail to avoid a falling oak branch two years ago in February wherein I tore my meniscus (right knee) all the way to the bone on both sides of the knee requiring an emergency arthroscopic repair whereupon my amazing lovely highly skilled surgeon said to me upon my awakening, and I quote,

“I don’t know if I’ve managed to save the knee.” No addendum.

To be quite honest, my knee has not really worked well since. I’ve managed, but it’s challenging when the left knee contains a whole lot of hardware and has since I crushed the knee in a sledding accident at the age of fourteen. (Multiple surgeries- the last by above-mentioned boy genius in 2007 which allowed me to hike across Costa Rica, Scotland and Wales.) Therefore my work horse right knee was my saving grace.

So that’s Perfect Storm #1.

Perfect Storm #2. (Stop chortling, Tom! I can hear you from this side of the grave.) (Remember, I see dead people.)

A little over a year ago, the coiled garden hose fell onto my leg, causing me to twist my right foot which resulted in a Lisfranc (sucky) injury for which I cannot wear a cast (hurts that right knee) and which has gotten worse with continued exercise so that the pain is, like, well, as we say in the nursing world- on a scale of 1-10 it’s pretty much a constant solid 7. And there’s nothing to do for it but a fusion which I’ve been avoiding because of the above-mentioned (Did I mention it?) right knee.

Lisfranc injury

But other foot…

Perfect Storm #3. (Shut up, Tom. I heard that!)

Because I’ve had to be cautious with the right foot I’ve been pounding on the left and I’ve developed the worst case of plantar faciitis I’ve ever had. Ever. And I’ve had it plenty-o-times. Stepping on that left heel first thing in the morning makes me scream- in addition to the fact that I already need a walker just to get out of bed due to the right knee and the right foot. (Did I mention that?) No shit. A walker just like gramma Jennie. You should see me sticking my left foot into a vat of ice water after I hike. No, seriously, a vat of ice water. Practically gives me a seizure. I can’t imagine how professional athletes actually manage to sit in ice water. Maybe because they are getting paid a bajillion dollars to do it?

On second thought, I’m sure you see me with my foot in ice water and you laugh your ass off!

ice water

Again, other foot…

But wait, there’s more! When I was in Montana for Christmas, and this was against my better judgement, mind you– I got talked into hiking through deep powder up to a tall ridge for sledding and snow boarding because I am indeed an idiot. You know, fun trumps all pain and suffering!

And so we come to Perfect Storm #4.

We took turns on the snowboard belonging to older daughter. I did not get injured snowboarding- just so’s ya know. It was hauling my older daughter out of a snow hole where she’d just done a face plant and couldn’t get her 5’7″ 135 pounds plus snowboard plus another 30 pounds of snow and ice-encrusted coveralls (so stiff they could stand up on their own- and this I know because I was the one who carried them back into the house) upright. And I didn’t want her to suffocate. In the process of rescuing my daughter from six feet of snow I managed to tear the labrum in my left hip. Now I’m gramma Jennie for sure!

kinda like this

Kinda like this.

snowboarder

The Real Deal – before the fall!

I swear- belated Christmas/Hanukah present– a walker.

Took me two hours to walk the dog two miles last night. I am so bloody slow I annoy the hell outta myself.

Oh, wait, did I mention I am scheduled for knee-replacement surgery on March 24th? Yeah. I am.

Guess I’ll be heading back to my surgeon’s office (he’s 100 miles away) to deal with my hip first.

Seriously. I mean, seriously. It’s like that Passover song- Dayenu – Enough! It would have been enough!

Dayenu

 

I think I was a bad person in a past life. Although… When I was in college a Vietnamese face reader told me I would experience significant musculoskeletal issues in my fifties. Emphasis on the ‘significant.’ His, not mine. He also said I would get past them. Finger’s crossed, dear Tom!

But anyway, the point of this post is to let you all know why I’m struggling to get work done. Besides, I’m busy exercising (rowing machine/swimming, trying to hike- poor Jake!) so I’ll have an easier time rehabbing from the knee and possibly hip surgery.

But as we all know, it could always be worse!

It could

(Reminds me of my horseback riding accident in high school- didn’t walk for an entire year.) Le’ sigh…

XOXO Love ya, Tom! (Quit laughing at me!)

19 thoughts on “Dear Tom… A Perfect Storm, or as we say round these parts- bitch fest two!

  1. Roberta

    When it rains it pours. Except for you……you have a deluge! I am SO sorry to hear of all your problems. I would pray for you but I am not in good grace with those above. Nevertheless, I will send positive thoughts and vibes your way until you are healed. I am sure you will continue as best you can to blog. You can do that from bed you know. Look at the sorta-kinda positive – a new blog for those who suffer from injuries like yours. Love and xoxoxo.

    Take care dear friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      Thanks, Roberta. Much appreciated! You’re in bad graces with the heavenly powers? Tsk! What did you do?
      Actually I hate injuries and while I feel for those of us who have been injured I’d rather just be hiking, running, swimming… whatever. Annoys me.

      Like

      Reply
  2. anny cook

    Ah, yes. I know this mess well. Yes. I hope your walker is the deluxe, rolling Cadillac kind like I have so you can stop and sit whenever you need to. Pain sucks. Being less than completely mobile sucks. Woman, my thoughts and prayers are really with you!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      Oh totally, Anny! Lack of mobility sucks the big one! For the time being I hold onto furniture. I’m just like all my patients!

      Like

      Reply
  3. Marylin Warner

    I’ll say this carefully–I’m not 100% sure about Heaven’s bad-joke policy–but my guess is that Tom is not only laughing and slapping his knee (which is not damaged, like yours, so it’s for emphasis that he’s slapping it), but I think Tom is also probably regaling friends and family–and any other angels who love a good story–with all kinds of stories about you, Julia.
    And while we do want Tom to have a laughing-good-time, we don’t want you to freeze in pans and tubs of ice. So do what you’re supposed to do, and be in good form for the March surgery! Okay? Okay! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      Working on it, Marylin! Oh, that ice seriously makes me have a seizure! My foot jerks like crazy! XOXO!

      Like

      Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      You want to move out here, Steph? LOL! Hopefully the hubby will manage to take a little time off work. Thanks!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

