Dear Tom, Sir Walter Scott…

Sir Walter Scott~ 1771-1832

Patriotism from ‘The Lay of the Last Minstrel’, Canto VI

Breathes there the man with soul so dead,

Who never to himself hath said,

‘This is my own, my native land!’

Whose heart hath ne’er within him burn’d

As home his footsteps he hath turn’d

From wandering on a foreign strand?

If such there breathe, go, mark him well;

For him no Minstrel raptures swell;

High though his titles, proud his name,

Boundless his wealth as wish can claim;

Despite those titles, power, and pelf,

The wretch, concentred all in self,

Living, shall forfeit fair renown,

And, doubly dying, shall go down

To the vile dust from whence he sprung,

Unwept, unhonour’d, and unsung.”

Memorable poem.

XOXO! Miss you, Scottish Tom. Julia

5 thoughts on “Dear Tom, Sir Walter Scott…

  1. Roberta

    “Then shall the dust return to the earth as it was: and the spirit shall return unto God who gave it.” King James Version

    “….. I believe the way to achieve immortality is to touch another person’s heart; to touch their soul. For when we touch anothers heart and soul we leave a part of ourselves in that person. And that person in turn carries a piece of us to every person they touch; and so on and so on and so on over the years.

    Henry W touched my heart and my soul. And I am confident that he has touched the hearts and souls of many of you here today…… So I know Henry has achieved immortality. For when we all leave this memorial today we will have a piece of Henry within us to share and pass on to every person we meet.

    That my friends is immortality.

    I will never see or talk with Henry again. But his joyous, generous, and loving spirit lives within me and within hundreds of others. I feel so lucky at this moment to have known such a wonderful, kind, and loving spirit. Rest in peace, my dear, dear friend. ”

    Roberta

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

