Dear Tom, about those robins and that memorial plaque…

The baby robins have flown the proverbial coop. The kiddos actually waited until they were big enough to fly– all the way into the tops of my redwood trees. Well, two of them managed to fly into the tops of my redwood trees. One was still standing on the edge of the nest when we returned home from the ball game. He looked skeptical. It was a long way down! He finally made the leap of faith– all the way into the garden. So for two days, we had a garden baby robin, or as Oscar says, “There’s one in every family.” Sigh. You’ll be happy to know he is now up in the big-ass maple.

Way to go, robins! Yesterday I set out three strategically placed feeders containing birdielicicious giant meal worms – no takers so far. I’m hoping the robins and other birds discover them. Hey, if I was a bird I’d be on those gross but very crunchy little suckers like white on rice!

Your daughter, Marie, sent me a photo of your memorial plaque. She’s the best! Love it. Makes me happy and sad at the same time. I want you to know I talked to Ish. She’s doing well. You don’t have to worry. She’s tough. Takes a tough woman to live with the likes of you!

Here lies one of the greats.

Here lies one of the greats.

I hate permanence. Death is by far and away too permanent. I’ll hook up with ya in the next life. We’ll share a pint or two or three. But no parachute jumping. I draw the line at parachute jumping.

Oh hey, tomorrow or the next day I’ll post photos of my jams – apricot, wild plum, black plum (excellent black plum), nectarine and my favorite – peach. This weekend I plan to pick blackberries so get ready for some outstanding blackberry jam, and maybe a pie or two.

That’s it for today. Love you! Julia

13 thoughts on “Dear Tom, about those robins and that memorial plaque…

  1. Marylin Warner

    Oscar is right, Julia, there is one in every family. But your garden robin will figure it out…eventually…if the world doesn’t get too tough.
    Marie is the best; the plaque is a beautiful tribute for Tom.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      True, Marylin. As my daughter says- nature is cruel. Actually nature is indifferent most of the time. IMO.
      Yes, love the plaque! I keep wanting to spell it plague. No, it’s not a plague! Tom is laughing at me. šŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
      1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt

        It sounded as if he loved them – I think I read his letter to his granddaughter. I lost my grandfather when I was a young teen, and my mother was devastated – I don’t remember anyone taking time with us, though they must have.

        They hadn’t told him he was dying, and I didn’t get a chance to say goodbye. That was a very long time ago, and I still mourn – and I don’t have anything in his hand that he wrote to me.

        So I sort of shared Tom’s letter. I KNOW my grandfather loved me.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. juliabarrett Post author

      You have me, Roberta! Tom is always around. He’s hanging out with Mr. Robin– the Mohawk head feathers are a dead giveaway! šŸ˜‰

      Like

      Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      He is! It’s pretty amazing, Anny – they didn’t leave the nest until they could flat out fly. Unheard of! They were big kids!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

