Dear Tom, I have some photos for you.

My son recently captured images of a tornado cloud above his home just west of Sacramento. The photos were taken with a cell phone, and you may have to enlarge, i.e., click on them to see properly, but they are quite compelling.

I thought you’d like to see them! Love you! Julia

The first image - when he noticed the light coming in his windows was green he ran outside. Remember, the kid lived in Iowa when he was little and we experienced a number of tornadoes.

The first image – when he noticed the light coming in his windows was green he ran outside. Remember, the kid lived in Iowa when he was little and we experienced a number of tornadoes.

Image number 2. It grew dark as night and hail began to fall.

Image number 2. It grew dark as night and hail began to fall. You can see the automatic street lights switched on.

Image 3. Almost directly above his property. Looks like something out of Independence Day, doesn't it!

Image 3. Almost directly above his property. Looks like something out of Independence Day, doesn’t it!

8 thoughts on “Dear Tom, I have some photos for you.

    1. juliabarrett Post author

      I think I’ll address each post to Tom, Marylin. He was my biggest fan. My way of keeping him close, I guess. Yeah, quite impressive for cell phone photos!

      Like

      Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      LOL! I grew up with tornadoes, Alicia. They only freak me out if they are right on top of me. My grandmother had one of those tornado shelters like in The Wizard of Oz. Of course we used it to store vegetables! Never went in there– always ran up the hill to watch!

      Like

      Reply
  1. Roberta

    Marilyn used the best word – “stunning” pictures

    The thing in your post that strikes me most is not one of the pictures but one of the words you used – the light was “green.”

    In 1974 Xenia, Ohio was hit by one of the all time huge tornado. The thing I have remembered most from that day was the green tint of the sky all afternoon. I have only seen that green tint a few times since – and always followed by a tornado.

    Interesting. Glad you are all safe.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

