The Day My Daughters Played with #Bigfoot, Part Three

In the words of the immortal older daughter, the great J:

“When I was six years old, I was playing in our family’s backyard when some movement caught my eye over by the perimeter fence to our property. On the other side of the fence was a vacant lot that wildlife would pass through on occasion. Knowing this, and being an animal lover, I got excited and went over to the fence to investigate what I saw.

“As I approached I could see that something was actively pushing bark and leaves through the bottom of the fence onto our side. In my six-year-old brain’s logic, I assumed it must be a baby bird trapped on the other side of the fence, and trying to push it’s way under the bottom to get to our side where obviously it be rescued…by me!

“I grabbed a stick and began clearing away the debris so I could reach the bird. However, as I dug and scraped, the creature just kept shoving more bark and leaves under the fence. I quickly began to reevaluate what I was dealing with. The way it moved the leaves, it was much too big to be a bird. Perhaps the creature was a stray dog and he wanted to play with me!

“I stuck my stick underneath the fence and felt a gentle tug. For the next fifteen minutes or so we played like this. The “stray dog” would tug on my stick, then push it back through the fence. I would push leaves under the fence, it would push them back.

“Finally I got a little impatient with this game and decided to get a better look at what I was dealing with. I found a slit in the fence where the boards were just slightly parted and peered through it with my eyeball. What I saw made me jump back. This creature was not a dog at all! It was in a seated position. Hunched over. I saw a long, sloping back covered in course black hair, sparsely spaced. I immediately knew that I was dealing with something I’d never seen before and ran into the house to fetch my mother.

“I breathlessly explained my encounter and what I had seen. She listened patiently and calmly took me back outside so she could have a look for herself and I’m sure in her mind prove to me that I was just a 6 year-old with a wild imagination.

“She peered through the fence and before I registered what was happening I heard my mother’s voice say “Get in the house right now!”. The next thing I know, she has me by the arm and I am being half dragged back to the house at a very brisk pace. Apparently she saw the same thing :)”

There you have it! We saw some inexplicable weird ass creature in our backyard. The day my daughters played with Bigfoot indeed!

13 thoughts on “The Day My Daughters Played with #Bigfoot, Part Three

    1. juliabarrett Post author

      I know, Ray! We are Twilight Zone-ish! Oh, one of these days I’ll have to tell the story of my husband’s Twilight Zone Theme watch… Scary…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Roberta

    VEEEERRRRRY interesting. Too bad this did not happen today, in the age of cell phones. ‘click’ Mystery solved.
    Do you ever have the desire to go back and see the old homestead? And maybe have a second encounter?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      We still live here! It’s just that most of the neighbors have extended their back fences so there is no longer open space. We’ve left ours but we’re isolated. Although I do have loads of birds in my space, Roberta!

      Like

      Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      We do love to rescue baby birds, Marylin! The kids helped me many times. Makes perfect sense to me!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Jaye

    Gee, Julia, I get all goofy excited when an unusual BIRD visits my yard. (This year a pair of lark buntings have moved from the prairie and into my trees–hope it works out for them.) If this had been me, I’d still be babbling and goofy about it decades later.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      Oh Jaye! I love buntings! Wish we had them here. Well, once in a great while we discuss it. But since nobody believed us at the time we sorta felt like we should shut up. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

