So how come I don’t get to say…

I don’t want to smell your marijuana? It offends me.

marijuanaI dislike walking through clouds of marijuana smoke every bit as much as I dislike walking through clouds of cigarette smoke. Why is it okay to force me to inhale your smoke? Is it because marijuana is politically correct and cigarettes are not?

Seriously folks. I don’t like inhaling marijuana and I find the smell nauseating. So how come when we walk to the Giant’s AT&T ball park I must be exposed to copious amounts of marijuana– so much so that by the time we reach the park my hair and my clothes reek of weed?

On the other hand, I swear if someone were to light up a cigarette he’d be tasered and hauled off in handcuffs.

I don’t smoke marijuana or cigarettes. I don’t like the smell of either yet cigarette smokers are pariahs while marijuana users get to sit on every street corner, on every bench, take up every green space, lean against the entire length of the railing along San Francisco Bay where I have to walk to the ball park and I am forced to inhale their stinkin’ smoke.

I mean, am I the only one who sees anything wrong with this picture?

Annoys the hell outta me.

14 thoughts on “So how come I don’t get to say…

    1. juliabarrett Post author

      Yeah. Annoying Anny. I really don’t see why cigarettes are banned in public, at least here, but not marijuana.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Diana Stevan

    We go into West Vancouver often, where we have a one bedroom apartment. The smell of marijuana fills one end of the common hallway. I’ve thought about complaining as the smell bugs me as well. If the resident needs medical marijuana, I get it, as our daughter found a lot of relief using it when she was undergoing treatment for breast cancer. But if it’s recreational use, I have a problem with the smell invading my space. In fact, I’m going to phone the caretaker after this message and ask him to ask that resident to put a weather strip at the bottom of his door to keep the smell in. As well, there is a no smoking in the building. I would assume this should cover marijuana as well.

    By the way, I have no problem with legalization. I’ve tried marijuana myself years back, a couple of times.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      The smell really bothers me, Diana. I do have patients who use it. But they need it and are respectful. I don’t agree with legalization. Decriminalization is fine. Not legalization. I’ve known too many people who abuse drugs, beginning with marijuana.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Roberta

    Not a problem in Ohio…..yet. They are thinking about legalizing it here in Ohio. We should be consistent…..if one type is banned all types of smoking should be banned. Smoke bothers me and makes my eyes burn. I also believe if folks want to make it all legal smoke in own home. I am also for separate rooms for smokers in restaurants and the like.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      I just don’t like to smell like smoke, Roberta. Plus pot makes me nauseated. Smoking isn’t allowed here, not even outdoors in public places in many cities and towns.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Marylin Warner

    We live one mile from Manitou Springs, Julia, where there is a legal recreational pot shop, and in Colorado Springs we have numerous shops of legal medical marijuana. However, these are all strictly regulated by shop owners, by buyers, and even in residential neighborhoods by the actual smokers who do not want their “rights” taken away. We’ve been both pleased and surprised that have been very few–and all were quickly squelched–problems with smoke, either regular cigarette or marijuana. There are no open or public places where smoking is tolerated.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      I wish it was that way here, Marylin! People smoke anywhere anytime. But not cigarettes. I find both equally offensive.

      Like

      Reply
  4. virginiallorca

    Banning smoking shouldn’t be understood as selective. No smoking. I think pot smells way worse, well, maybe not way, than cigarette. Especially stale or on someone’s clothing. I have enjoyed its effect, but the after odor is kind of sickening to me. Candles. For users and neighbors. Not much good outside.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      I agree, Virginia. I think both smell bad and both make my hair smell bad. I don’t care if someone wants to smoke in his or her own home but if it’s illegal to smoke cigarettes in public places why is it okay to smoke pot?
      I guess what bugs me is that the same people and organizations who have worked hard to ban cigarettes in public places couldn’t care less about pot smoking in public places. Well, I care.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

