Oh. My.

Can I live with several thousand giant spiders? That is the question of the day.

No, these are not stars. These are thousands upon thousands of baby spiders hatching out of an egg case.

No, these are not stars. These are thousands upon thousands of baby spiders hatching out of an egg case.

Third generation of giant spiders. As my husband says, talk about immortality! Think Charlotte’s Web. Wait… I can’t. Charlotte’s Web makes me cry. So two years ago we found this giant spider in our garden. She was as big as my fist. Seriously big. She was so big the dog barked at her every night. Here’s a video:

She died, sadly, because that’s what big spiders do. But she left an egg case on the fence. A dozen or so of her daughters (and probably some of her sons) hung around. Three took up residenceย in my garden ย which made me very nervous because, you know, when you’re picking vegetables the last thing you want to close your hand around is a giant spider. The largest of the sisters took her mother’s place. She built her web in the exact same spot her mother had built a web– stretching from the top of a tomato plant up into a nearby tree. Thus I could keep an eye on her.

One day she vanished. I knew she’d built an egg case somewhere but I couldn’t find it. I searched through the tomato plant despite my allergy to tomato plants, but I could not find the egg case. Then yesterday I saw tiny golden stars appear in my garden. Oh my! She’d hidden her egg case beneath the casing on the raised bed, a perfect place to hide an egg case.

So I’m watching these little spiders. What are they doing? Why, they are banding together to build a mutual web because they are too little to catch anything if one builds a web alone, and also for protection I assume. They look a whole lot bigger in a mob than they do individually.

Now I have to be careful not to disturb their web, which stretches from one garden bed to another. And I have to wait for them to get a little bigger so they can go their separate ways, although I think some already flew off. Again, the question is, can I live with thousands upon thousands of what will ultimately become giant spiders?

I guess we’ll know soon enough! How fast to you suppose they grow?

I can’t find much information on baby spiders.

28 thoughts on “Oh. My.

    1. juliabarrett Post author

      LOL! Then they’d better get to flying, Greta! I can deal with two or three, but I don’t want a dozen or more in my garden.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Roberta

    OMG OMG OMG I HATE spiders. I could barely get through this post! Outside in my garden they are welcome. They eat aphids. But once one of them crosses over the line into my house they are dead meat. Don’t know how you just let those spiders live. I would not have been able to sleep at night knowing they were outside my house. UGH! I will spare you the evil – even my fave – ways I have learned to kill spiders.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      Poor Roberta! I put them in a jar and take them outside. I don’t kill spiders unless they are black widows or worse. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

      Reply
  2. Marylin Warner

    I think Greta is right, Julia. Or at least I hope so.
    When I was in high school, I babysit for two little girls for most of one summer after their mother was laid up after a bite by a brown recluse. She lost a hunk of flesh out of her calf.
    Be careful.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      Fortunately these are not brown recluse, Marylin, but I’ve seen a brown recluse. That is a spider I would kill if I found it in my house.

      Like

      Reply
      1. juliabarrett Post author

        I cannot grow indoor plants, Anny. At least not here. Could grow them in Iowa. They do not grow well in California.

        Like

  3. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt

    I love that you have a Charlotte’s babies – the writer must have had a similar experience to start that part of the story.

    I don’t get people who are afraid of spiders – we are a billion times larger, and not their preferred food. People kill trillions of spiders every year – they never come after us en masse for revenge.

    They have no more choice what they look like when they come into this world than we do.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      I believe spiders symbolize wisdom, Alicia, so I feel pretty blessed when they make themselves at home in my yard. I even let some co-exist in my house – provided they aren’t too big and they stay where I can see them!

      Like

      Reply
  4. Diana Stevan

    Oh Julia, how Buddhist of you. I respect spiders and the work they do and have them visit my garden but if I found any the size of my fist I’d have to get rid of them. It would make me mental I’m sure. How, I’d get rid of them, I don’t know but the thought of not doing so frightens me.

    Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      You could have a bug person come get it, Diana. ๐Ÿ™‚ But really the web was so big we couldn’t miss it. Once I had to rescue a robin that got tangled in spider silk and was flopping around in the yard. I wouldn’t want the spider crawling on me but she did fascinate me.

      Like

      Reply
      1. Diana Stevan

        Spiders are amazing and as you say, they weave their magic in the garden. Still, we sleep with our bedroom window open, no screens, and they’ve left their mark on me too many times.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. juliabarrett Post author

      Well, Amber, she was impressive! I don’t know. I used to be kinda scared of spiders but I got over that years ago. Not that I want them in my bed…

      Like

      Reply
  5. Jaye

    I doubt you ever have to worry about bitten by a garden spider, Julia, no matter how large. But this will sure keep your mosquito population in check. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good on you to protect them. Most of those babies will be gone in a few days.

    I love spiders. Even the cranky wolf spiders (all my cats have had run-ins with wolf spiders, and now they pretend they don’t SEE spiders when they are skittering through the house). I have to regularly rescue spiders from the old man and take them outside. Though I will let the jumping spiders stay in my kitchen window. My best defense against flies.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      Yeah, I don’t worry about garden spiders, Jaye. They are shy, although when a spider is this big it has pretty big fangs!
      I got so mad at my husband the other day because he accidentally killed a spider I’d left in a corner of the kitchen. He was my fly-killer spider. Hubby was trying to fix a light, knocked him down and then accidentally stepped on him.

      Like

      Reply
  6. virginiallorca

    A wolf spider on my deck reared back at me, and I was only looking. I will not let anyone kill them or disturb their web. But in my house? Well, I might try to remove it, but, thankfully, never saw a wolf spider in house. I have no respect for egg cases of any kind. Spider-wise.
    Once, at work, I stepped on a small black spider deliberately and about a million babies ran off her back. I freaked and murdered. Tho not deeply spiritual, I felt Buddha chastize me.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      They will rear back at you. Wolf spiders ain’t a-skeered of nobody! But ewwwww! I would have freaked if those babies ran all over my house. The same thing happens with scorpions. They carry their babies on their backs as well. Let us hope Buddha can forgive you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

