Listen to Gary Taubes and Nina Teicholz.

Before you go all sustainable and vegan on your body, please please please consider the most up to date nutrition research.

The powers that be think they have to tell you to not eat something. That something will almost always be red meat and/or saturated fats– the preferred villains.

Don’t do it. Don’t fall victim to old theories. The pundits need to open their eyes and ears and stop clinging to discredited research.

Listen to (click the links) and read from:

Why We Get Fat and What to do About It, Gary Taubes

Why We Get Fat and What to do About It, Gary Taubes

Gary Taubes

Gary Taubes

The Big Fat Surprise, Why Butter, Meat and Cheese Belong in a Healthy Diet, Nina Teicholz

The Big Fat Surprise, Why Butter, Meat and Cheese Belong in a Healthy Diet, Nina Teicholz

Nina Teicholz

Nina Teicholz

12 thoughts on “Listen to Gary Taubes and Nina Teicholz.

  1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt

    As far as I know, it is excess carbs which get converted to fat by the body and stored as energy. It’s the only time I put on weight – when I’m satisfying that carb craving.

    I do best by staying away from them entirely. I miss cookies, cake, bread, icing, lot of stuff. I avoid them most of the time. I fail miserably at weddings, etc. Then I need to watch my diet to get all that junk out, and I feel like crap. You’d think I would learn.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      Ah, but Alicia, carbs taste good and make us feel good. I eat carbs in moderation. Homemade carbs. I do try to avoid processed foods.

      Like

      Reply
      1. juliabarrett Post author

        And fat, Roberta. Protein without fat is not a good thing. Fat. Fat. Fat. I always cooked with butter and olive oil, but I’ve added duck fat and bacon grease into the mix. 🙂

        Like

      2. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt

        I eat an enormous amount of protein, including red meat – compared to the ‘recommendations’ which don’t work for me.

        A little bit of carbs – and I want more. That’s the problem. Skip them almost entirely (stick with a few low carb veggies and a lo carb pita), and I DON’T get cravings. It’s an easier decision than you think.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Marylin Warner

    When I was growing up, Julia, my mom was the queen of gardening and homecooking, including baking her own breads and occasional desserts. Fresh fruits, vegetable dishes, and lots of great meat dishes…those were our staples. I didn’t start putting on weight until I went to college, ate in the student union and tried all kinds of quirky-quick diets. That was the beginning of my downfall. I am now definitely back on track and feeling much better.
    Excellent post.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      Oh Marilyn, I know. We were always about homemade. My father hates what he calls ‘store bought’. So while we had homemade cookies and pies, we also had a huge garden, homemade breads (my dad hated store bought bread) and all our meals were homemade. I cook so much now, as do my kids, that nobody wants to go out to eat. Why eat out when you can eat better at home?
      Even in college I didn’t eat junk. Can you believe I didn’t taste an Oreo until I was 19???

      Like

      Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      Sweets were a treat, Anny. They weren’t an everyday kind of thing. Yup. Sometimes the old way were the better ways.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Roberta

    Julia, you and I are SO on the same page. Gary Taubes and Nina Teicholtz are my hero and heroine. Taubes tells us the right things to eat and Nina gives us the research that backs him up and exposes the lying *%#%$*^ that told Americans to eat the wrong foods.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Diana Stevan (@DianaStevan)

    Julia, I think I’ve mentioned before that I studied nutrition in university, and have followed Canada’s Food Guide ever since, eating sensibly from all the food groups. I believe moderation is key, and shopping sensibly. I miss my mother’s huge garden. I was blessed to grow up with that in my backyard. I don’t have a vegetable garden, but am mindful of reading ingredients on packages and avoiding as much processed food as I can. Also, I’ve learned which organic produce I is a must and buy only organic milk, in order to avoid the antibiotics and anything else that’s been unnecessarily added. Like that we’re on the same page.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      There are so many hidden carbs in foods, Diana, so it’s good to read label. If fat is removed, it is replaced with processed carbs and sugars.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

