This one’s for you, Tom Stronach!

So Jake and I have been hiking on a new trail. It follows the river.

The River Trail.

The River Trail.

The day Tom passed away, Jake and I came across a wonder of nature, something that hadn’t been here a mere 24 hours before:

A beaver did it!

A beaver did it!

A beaver had chopped down a tree. I’d heard rumors that beavers had recolonized some of the local creeks, and of course I’ve seen beavers in Montana and Minnesota, but not in California. Certainly not in Napa. And yet here they are. Busy as beavers. I’m convinced Tom put that beaver tree in my path because he knew I would love it.

Last night Jake and an owl engaged in a hooting contest. They wuz a regular pair of hooters. I finally had to bring Jake indoors before the neighbors called the cops – the owl was hooting away and Jake was hooting  with him, trying his doggie best to match his pitch. I hated bringing Jake inside, he was having so much fun with the owl, but I had no choice.

And then my friend Jaye reminded me that owls are messengers and she said this owl must have had a message for me. Tom. It was Tom. Of course!

He’s been lingering at the edges of my dreams for three straight nights. He’s healthy, handsome and happy. Miss you, Tom, but thanks for the new memories!

7 thoughts on “This one’s for you, Tom Stronach!

  1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt

    It’s clear he has a place in your heart – it’s nice to think of him whole, and comfortable, and just waiting for folk to join him.

    That’s how I think of my Dad – and meanwhile, he’s having a ball with the buddies and family – like his brothers and sisters – who preceded him.

    Alicia

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      I’m sure he is, Alicia. It’s been a difficult couple of years for many people. But you have a wonderful attitude.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

