Jake soldiers on…

 

I can make it... basketball is the everything!

I can make it… basketball is the everything!

So Jake has an ouchie. We’re not sure. Might be a toe, or his right rear foot, or god forbid, his right knee. But I don’t think it’s his knee because he can run like crazy after his throwing ball. And he’s not limping. But he’s sensitive about his right rear leg and he definitely doesn’t like to walk over rocky trails. He tries to stay on the grass. If he’s forced to walk on a rocky trail I’ve noticed he has a slight limp. Yet he soldiers on.

Even if he’s hurt his knee I won’t get him surgery. Our golden retriever, Rosie, had a knee repair years ago. The recovery period was horrendous. Would not want to put another dog through that unless it was absolutely necessary. Besides, I’m sort of thinking foot or toenail related because Jake doesn’t limp when he gets up after a nap, and he can still run and jump like a maniac.

Over New Years we were buffeted by 60 mph winds. Blew down every sticky ball in the city. My husband took Jake walking the other night. He said the dog suddenly acted like he’d been shot, was hobbling along like an old man. But he said Jake had this look of determination on his face– “I can make it. I can make it. Oww! This is torture, but I’m hanging in here. I can make it to the extraction point.” (Think Predator.) My husband checked his feet. He’d stepped on a sticky ball and it was lodged in the center of his right front paw.

sticky balls

Those sticky balls… This dog…

11 thoughts on “Jake soldiers on…

  1. Tom Stronach

    Poor Jake, give him hugs from Ishbel and I. ….

    PS. Just tidying my desk and I asked Ishbel to throw the envelope in the bin that you sent the recipes in. She asked me why I had addressed an envelope to ourselves, apparently our handwriting is identical ‘soul mate’

    Like

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      Of course we do, soul mate! I’ll give Jake your regards. He dragged me all over the park today. Right now I’m in shock over the events in Paris. Sick.

      Like

      Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      They are nasty, Anny! I hate them. I’m thinking he may have twisted a toenail? Not really sure. His knee seems okay but sometimes he acts like he’s either strained something or has a partial tear. The way he hurls himself after squirrels and his balls it would come as no great shock. Thank you!

      Like

      Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      I’d love to see a photo of your snow, Anny. I’m thinking you have snow? My daughter flies back there tomorrow.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Marylin Warner

    Poor Jake. If you lived in Colorado, my guess would be frost bite. Our temps. have been horribly cold, and for two days she was limping. We have a friend who’s a vet tech, and he suggested we give Maggie a baby aspirin and wrap her foot in a warm, slightly moist cloth at night. It took one night. We were thrilled that the limping and sensitivity were gone.

    Like

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      Ow, Marylin! I know it’s been terribly cold there. My sister lives in Boulder and her dog just ripped a toenail. Gets complicated when your dog is bandaged but must go outside in the snow. I’m not sure what’s up with Jake. He limps when he walks on gravel. No problem on dirt trails. Sorry about Maggie. Poor girl.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

