What do you want for Christmas, little girl?

naughty santa

Should I say, World Peace? Yeah, like that’s gonna happen.

Here is what I want. I want a better 2015 than 2014.

I’d like to take a moment to get a little political and this will probably get me crucified–

Dear Santa, some people need to learn the real meaning of the word tolerance.

tol-er-ance (noun) The ability or willingness to tolerate something, in particular the existence of opinions or behavior with which one does not necessarily agree. (I actually think tolerance is an active noun– verb-like.)

Dear Santa, some people are in desperate need of a little humility. Please send them a big slice of humble pie ASAP.

Dear Santa, some people need to learn the difference between the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth, and the concept of the big lie.

Dear Santa, some people need to stop decapitating and otherwise murdering other people. That would be a really nice Christmas present for the world.

Dear Santa, a little one-room cabin in the mountains would be nice. No electricity required.

It’s fortunate I’m a glass half-full kind of person.

So listen up… it’s entirely possible we’re living in the last days. Indeed, sometimes I’m convinced of that and I’m NOT talking about the non-issue of global warming. (Read your history books– both ancient and relatively recent and you’ll learn all about cooling cycles, warming cycles, and long droughts. Do you know archaeologists speculate the ancient Anasazi abandoned their settlements in the Southwest nearly a thousand years ago because of a prolonged period of drought?)

Where was I going with this???

Oh, yeah, last days. Well, I suspect every generation believes itself to be living in the last days, or at least some part of every generation believes this. Seems narcissistic to me – yes, even me, guilty of narcissism. Yet since I was a little kid I’ve lived with the feeling that something would happen in my lifetime, something  very bad. I don’t think I’m the only one. My sisters always felt the same. Armageddon wasn’t something my parents discussed, both being Jewish and Atheists.

Regardless, here is my Christmas wish:

Dear Santa, Please protect my children, and one day, my grandchildren and great grandchildren and on and on through the ages.

Nothing means more to me. Thank you. And thanks for the rains!

Oops! What a dark Christmas post! Hey, California is under attack by Mega-Rain! Take that all you naysayers at the S.F. Chronicle! (The staff there can’t write a story without saying and/or implying– Don’t you be thinkin’ this heavy rain is making any impact on the drought whatsoever!)

🙂

6 thoughts on “What do you want for Christmas, little girl?

  1. anny cook

    Yep, in the last few days, especially, things have been grim. Every time something new happens we believe it’s the worst. I remember back when I was a young woman, in an era of assassinations, riots, wars (the daily body count was listed on TV each night–and it was high), when our citizens were continually shocked by political scandals (Agnew, Nixon, blah, blah, blah), we were sure, positive, the end was near. I suspect my parents believed the same thing in their time. Perhaps…you are wise. We don’t seem to have any limit to the terror, greed, and callous disregard we have toward our fellow man and woman. I have a theory that each civilization reaches a point where their people rise up in rebellion and drastic change inundates the land. Perhaps democracy is just a grand experiment.

    Like

    Reply
    1. juliabarrett Post author

      Maybe, Anny. Maybe. I’m not sure. All things do pass though. I always think of Ecclesiastes. I do have my panic kits packed! Will be heading to Montana in the event of an apocalypse!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Diana Stevan (@DianaStevan)

    I think you’ve been reading my mind. I share the same concerns and wish there was more tolerance. I can’t understand it sometimes. We all want the same thing. Security, love, a roof over our heads, food, clothing and the best for our children and grandchildren. Why can’t we embrace all faiths, all people? I wish I had a magic wand and could make greed disappear so there was more fairness in the world. Wishing you and your family love and peace in the New Year!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

